Genesis recognizes outstanding persons in our community who have made a difference through volunteer service. - Genesis HealthCare System - Zanesville, Ohio

Community Service Award

Each year, the Genesis HealthCare Foundation recognizes an outstanding person in our community who has made a difference through volunteer service. Nominations are accepted from the public, and a committee selects the recipient, who doesn’t need ties to Genesis but should exemplify the Genesis values of compassion, trust, innovation and excellence.

Submit an Entry

2018 Award Nominations

If you know someone who volunteers to help others in our community, nominate him or her by completing this form, along with a page description of the nominee’s community involvement, by Friday, Aug. 24. The award will be presented in October.

2017 Award Winner

Maryanna worked as the office manager for the family business, Champion Insulators Inc., for 26 years while raising three children with her husband, Jack. She volunteered as a room mother, a scout leader and with church school activities. In 1996, when Jack Fenton was elected for the first of three terms as mayor of Zanesville, Maryanna’s time was committed to community events and organizations. Past and present community involvement includes:

• Junior Assembly of Bethesda Hospital
• Zanesville Welfare Organization Board of Directors
• Goodwill Industries, Inc.
• Genesis Advisory Board
• Zanesville Museum of Art
• Beaux Arts Club
• Meadow-Vale Garden Club
• Board of Trustees for Zanesville Day Nursery
• On-call greeter at Bryan-Hardwick Funeral Home

Maryanna, a life-long resident of Zanesville, is an active member of Grace United Methodist Church. She has six grandchildren and six great grandchildren.

Previous Award Winners

2016 – Tom Sieber

2015 – Shirley McCollister

2014 – Bud & Audrey St. Clair

2013 – Becky Archibald

2012 – Caribeth Legats

2011 – William (Buzz) Benson

2010 – Bob Melsheimer

2009 – Carol Kohler

2008 – Eva Sieber

2007 – Geraldine Zylinsky

2006 – Robert E. Titko

2005 – Fred & Bebe Grant

2004 – Van Vannelli

2003 – Dr. & Mrs. Charles Cerney

2002 – Mark Watson

2001 – Bill Factor

2000 – Alice Mauk